The day I got off the bus

Cures you whisper
make no sense
Slip gently into
mental illness

The Beat, Mirror in the bathroom

One morning, bag of unstarted homework in hand, I got off the school bus at Wymondham and sneaked down an alleyway. I squatted against the wall, bottom nearly touching the ground, hands clasped around my knees. And stayed there.

Could I have stayed in that uncomfortable position for long? Surely I must have walked around town or browsed a shop or two? I don’t know. All I remember, on that most terrible of days, is the alley, the wall, my feet, the cold.

At home my parents wanted explanations for my truancy. At school, teachers wanted their assignments, I suppose stopping off midway between them was a compromise. Why don’t I just do the damn work? I wondered then, and for many years after. But I’d confused symptoms with causes. I wasn’t messed up because I wasn’t doing my homework. I was messed up, so I couldn’t do it.

“Nervous breakdown”, so Wikipedia tells us, has no medical meaning. So let’s interpret my experience that day as a mixture of depression, anxiety, severe stress and panic attack. It was awful.

I had moved schools. I had loved my middle school, a beautiful, bright, enlightened place. My new secondary school, a grammar school with a nationwide reputation, was a dismal, ugly institution of spiteful conformity. I was used to being encouraged (I suppose you might say nurtured), but in that place, expectations were everything. Education was imbibed as a tasteless soup, with the threat of retribution if you didn’t down your portion. But I respected individuals, not authority, and had no desire to learn what didn’t inspire me.

Shocked and overwhelmed, I started feigning physical illness. When that strategy started to fail, all that was left was to skip school.

Eventually I went home and faced the music. My parents and teachers were more puzzled than angry. But I couldn’t explain what I didn’t understand myself. My form teacher kept tabs on me for a while. I felt stupid. I wondered if I would end up “going mental“.

But I had learned some lessons, even if they were the wrong ones. Education was something to be survived, not enjoyed. I would do enough to avoid punishment – which for me, was not much at all – but no more. Within a year, to my glee, my report read “he obtains high grades with a minimum of effort and sometimes shows a disturbing complacency“. I even made a cameo appearance on a friend’s report – “associates with the wrong people…

Don’t get me wrong. I wasn’t an out-and-out rebel: I’d learned enough to realise my mental health was at stake down that road. I was surly and sarcastic and renowned for my bone idleness. But I was just horrifically bored.

You internalise these lessons. When my Maths teacher said I lacked the ability to apply myself like my oh-so-perfect brother, I believed him. When my Science teacher mused that maybe science wasn’t “your thing, I figured he was right. When my French teacher – referring me to the Head of Department for embellishing a particularly dull picture essay with a food poisoning scene – said I was immature and flippant, I concurred.

So in that dire miseducation, I embarked on the journey that led, nine years later, to dropping out of University.

My daughter started at school in September. Her teacher, a clever and remarkable woman, wonders if she may be classified as gifted. I should be – am – proud. But I worry. Sending her to school has brought back a wave of memories, and not many are pleasant. I hope education has changed.

I learned to be a failure at school. I don’t want her to learn that.

(For my English teacher, who was entirely blameless)

2 comments so far

  1. Tom Heavens on

    Hey there,
    I read your really quite gripping story. As a current student of Wymondham High School Sixth Form, I almost share your experiences. Sometimes, I get out of the car and look down that empty passageway and think…today, I just might not go.
    But something urges me on because really school is a pretty good place after all.
    Keep up with the creativity!
    Tom, 17, Wymondham

  2. Distance on

    Tom

    Wow. It somehow hadn’t occurred me that someone currently at Wymondham might read this. Search engines are powerful things.

    Obviously, having been mediocre at school and a disaster at university, I’m in a weak position to moralise about truancy. Even though I stopped physically absenting myself from school, for years to come I was still mentally absenting myself So I was, in a sense, a habitual truant.

    Everybody experiences school differently. For some it genuinely was the best time of their lives: I feel sorry for those people, if only because the remainder must be such a disappointment. For others, it was an endless nightmare, and leaving gave them the joy of the termination of a prison sentence. For me it was nether, just an enforced route-march to nowhere-in-particular. If it was mindlessly tedious, it wasn’t unbearable, and I scraped along in my own unenthusiastic way.

    But I had allowed myself to become a passive witness to my own education. I carried on like that through university and screwed it up horribly. Deservedly so. If you have neither a work ethic nor enthusiasm for your subject, then university is no place to be.

    I truanted school one day to go on a political rally. I got shouted at by the Deputy Headmaster, but that was fine. I’d taken a decision that supporting that cause was more important than a day’s schooling. The world existed outside of school and sometimes the world has to take priority. I had taken the correct decision.

    But most of my truanting was just running away from problems. And it did no good, because it did nothing to address causes. I know this is hindsight speaking, but if that passageway holds a promise of escape, it’s just an illusion. There’s nothing up there but concrete.

    Good luck with everything.


Leave a comment